Buying car insurance in Massachusetts can seem complicated, with various types of coverages and state laws which have changed in recent years. The state requires all drivers to carry some level of insurance, but in 2008, drivers gained new buying options as Massachusetts moved away from a highly regulated industry to managed competition. At the same time, insurers have started changing their policies, so not all companies use the standard Massachusetts policy.
In the past, the state had set rates. But under “managed competition,” each insurance company can set its own price and compete for consumers’ business.
If you are a Massachusetts driver, you should shop around to obtain the best rates while still buying adequate insurance to protect yourself in a car accident. Here, the Boston car accident lawyers at Breakstone, White & Gluck offer some tips on what to consider before purchasing auto insurance for you and your family:
Massachusetts requires drivers to buy basic car insurance coverage, including:
- Bodily Injury to Others: $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $8,000 for medical bills and lost wages
- Bodily Injury from an Uninsured Driver: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
- Damage to Another Person’s Property: $5,000
The compulsory coverage provides insufficient protection for car accidents. These other insurances offer additional protection.
- Bodily Injury: You can buy up to $500,000 per person per accident. If you cause a serious motor vehicle accident, this protects you from claims against your personal property.
- Underinsured Auto: You could be injured by another driver who does not have car insurance. You can protect yourself by purchasing up to $500,000 in coverage per person per car accident.
- Medical Payments: This coverage pays for medical expenses that exceed your $8,000 PIP coverage. You can obtain an extra $10,000 in coverage for a small cost.
- Collision Comprehensive. This coverage pays for damages to your vehicle in a car accident. This coverage is paid by the policy of the driver found to be at fault. Many people choose a high deductible to save money on their policy price, but this can cost you far more if you caused a car accident and have to pay a deductible for your own vehicle.
Click here for information on auto discounts and how to get additional insurance coverage through your homeowners’ insurance policy.
Related Blogs, Articles and Websites
- College Students and Other Drivers Who Relocate Must Update Their Auto Insurance Policy
- Injured Bicyclists Can Find Financial Protection for Accidents Through Car Insurance Policies
- State’s Auto Insurance Premium Comparisons Web Page
The Boston car accident lawyers at Breakstone, White & Gluck are experienced in handling car accidents, from insurance claims to trials. If you have been injured in a car accident, protect your rights. Contact us today for a free legal consultation at 800-379-1244 or 617-723-7676 or use our contact form.