The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) hosts Child Passenger Safety Week from Sept. 19 to Sept. 25, providing parents an opportunity to check the traveling accommodations for those they hold most dear: their children.
The NHTSA estimates three out of four parents are not properly restraining their children in the car. But car and booster seats provide your child the greatest amount of protection and are especially important in light of the fact that motor vehicle crashes are responsible for the majority of deaths among children ages four to eight years old. Child safety seats reduce injury rates by 58 percent.
Massachusetts law mandates use of child safety seats. The law, which was expanded in July 2008, now requires parents to restrain children five to seven years of age or up to 4′ 9″ tall. Previously, child safety seats were required for children under 5 years of age and under 40 pounds.
The new law also requires children ages eight to twelve to wear a safety belt.
Drivers who violate this law can be stopped by police and face a $25 fine, but the real price is far greater in respect to your child’s safety.
One problem parents face in securing their children is the proper method changes with age. Click here to see a detailed chart on the best way to protect your child in the car depending on their age.
If you’re a parent, make sure your child’s safety seat is properly installed. On Sept. 25, police stations and other inspection sites across Massachusetts will be participating in National Seat Check Saturday. Visit this website and search for an inspection station near you.
The Boston car accident lawyers at Breakstone, White & Gluck specialize in handling motor vehicle accidents and seek to educate the public on preventing car accidents and reducing personal injury. If you have a case involving a motor vehicle accident or other personal injury, contact us today at (617) 723-7676.